TEAM SHELBY FORUM

A Congressman must have been hit by a Jogger.....

A Congressman must have been hit by a Jogger or bumped into by a someone talking on a Cell Phone............Must Personal type Laws get pssed ONLY when it happened to someone in Office.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110124/ap_on_re_us/us_distracted_walkers

There is more to it than that. I am an attorney in San Diego and, although I do not do personal injury law, there has been talk for years about accidents that involved, on the one hand, a driver distracted by cell phone use and, on the other hand, a pedestrian distracted by cell phone use. I work in downtown San Diego and am amazed by the use of cell phones by pedestrians, coupled with their belief that, "If I have the light in my favor, I am safe" approach to crossing the street. As a runner, I do run with music but at a level to where I can hear what the traffic around me is doing. These proposed statutes are designed for people who were born without a full load of common sense. Such statutes seem like too much "big brother" but that is because you possess common sense and do not do the things complained of. These proposed statutes are to address what Ron White talked about in his book, "You Can't Fix Stupid."

Jim