TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Interesting Shelby Dakota Project

ahdoman

Newbie here but not new to the automotive restoration / modification world. I'm glad to have found this forum! I've acquired a really interesting project. I purchased 2 Dakotas; the first is the Shelby (#379, white, 150,000 miles) and the second is a 1990 Convertible. Unfortunately, the Shelby has a California salvage title and the cab is is wiped all the way down the drivers side just below the door handle. The roof is bent front and rear as well as the front firewall where the door hinges are. The frame appears straight but I'll have it checked on the Celete bench. The convertible has 240,000 miles on it. The body and top are in excellent shape but the motor and trans are old and tired. The plan is to put the convertible cab onto the Shelby. But, I have a couple of questions;

1) Does anybody know where I can get more of the Shelby seat insert material from? I'm also thinking about going to bucket seats since the frame is broken on the bench seat and will need to be rebuilt. Will any of the seats from the other early 90's Dodge Shelby cars fit into the rails?

2) The light bar will not work with the convertible top so i will probably sell it. I hate eBay so if someone is interested in buying it email me at ahdoman@socal.rr.com. I'm also open to trades for other Shelby truck parts (i.e. wheel caps, stock performance parts, etc.)

3) How is the Shelby number plaque attached to the dash? I need to remove it to get the dash recovered (it's full of cracks).

4) The front of the Shelby is about 1" lower than the front of the convertible (which is bone stock). Did Shelby lower the front of the truck intentionally or does it sit lower due to engine weight? Does anybody know what the length of the stock spring is so i can check it to see if it's been cut?

5) I have the faux wood steering wheel. The "wood" effect is pretty well worn off and the leather is shot. Can anybody recondition those?