TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Long post...but I need to talk this decision out...

OneDay...

So I figure I should start this out by giving a small background. I graduated from my university in ’09 and recently started my career with JPM. I’m pretty pumped about the job and it’s paying more than I’d hoped. My student loans are about “normal” as I had decent scholarships from my school and paid for as much as possible from my summer jobs/internships. Other than my student loans, I have no other debts. And I’ve decided I’m staying in my parents’ house for at least 2 full years (maybe 3) as they just finished a big renovation and are happy to have me at home (so that means NO rent payment). Within 2 years, I can see myself getting engaged and after marriage, obviously then moving out and hopefully getting into a decent townhouse (I really don’t want to rent. I’d like to build equity asap).

I bought my first car, a ’97 Nissan Maxima and still drive it today. It’s got 150k on it and still purrs. I figure I’ll keep her until I have to put her down. She’ll be my winter car since I live in the Chicago suburbs and WILL NOT drive the Shelby in the snow.

So now you have a very general but small snapshot of my financial background and plans for the next few years. So this is where I need some honest, NO BS assessment. Ever since I saw the old Shelbys, I knew that I needed to buy one. And now that the 2011s are out, there’s no better model IMO to buy. I’m at least a solid year off from putting a down payment on hopefully a used garage queen but I just wanted to get some input from all you Shelby enthusiasts.