TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Advice/suggestion on wheels

Need some input or at least a reality check.

I have come across a guy with a set of nearly new 20' chrome Razors with Sumitomo HTR Z II tires. The guy what's to trade for my OE's plus $600 cash. I have not seen these wheels and tires in person or even good photos of the tires so I'm not sure how good of a deal this is. I figure I can make a deal a $500 if they are the right offset for big brakes.

The question is, should I pursue this? I love the look of the Razors but not crazy about the chrome. The tires would not be my 1st choice but then I have no knowledge of the quality of tire Sumitomo produces.

Does anyone have any thoughts? I may just be too gung-ho on the idea of new wheels.

If it were me, I'd probably keep my originals and keep looking....the tires only come in two sizes for the 20" wheels and they list for $115 and $117 each...$1000 for a set of Chrome 20X9" Razors which your original wheels are good for and the BFG's are more expensive tires....plus, do his tires have the TPMS sensors and bands in them??? Is the ofset right for larger brakes??? I think he's trying to pull a fast one on you, but it is your choice....

Well, that was easy.

I will regret letting go of the OE wheels, not crazy about chrome, and thow I don't think the guy is trying to pull a fast one he may be misguided on the value of his set-up. Latemodelrestoration list this same set-up between $1700 and $1800 depending on the offset. My guess is these wheels are the +4mm and not the 24mm needed for big brakes.

I'm going to pass.

Well, that was easy.

I will regret letting go of the OE wheels, not crazy about chrome, and thow I don't think the guy is trying to pull a fast one he may be misguided on the value of his set-up. Latemodelrestoration list this same set-up between $1700 and $1800 depending on the offset. My guess is these wheels are the +4mm and not the 24mm needed for big brakes.

I'm going to pass.