TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Engine Cap Set Fitting Not right???

Hi all,

I am new to the Shelby World. Just purchased a 2010 Shelby GT500 in Jan. 2010. I purchased the engine cap set (GT500 one) and am finding it really hard to get the washer fluid cap to fit. It has a plastic ring lip washer inside the cap and that bugger just doesn't seem to snap on the plastic tube. Hate to try too hard cause I might break it. Any ideas, especially from the Shelby Store Guys?

Racin' Randy

Hi Randy - I am new here too but I wanted to mention that I was looking at a KR the other day and the washer fluid cap was pretty much just laying in place and did not fit well at all. I have noticed, looking at pictures of engine bays of Super Snake, that they have the cap set installed but the washer cap in use is the yellow plastic one from the factory. :headscratch:

Hi all,

I am new to the Shelby World. Just purchased a 2010 Shelby GT500 in Jan. 2010. I purchased the engine cap set (GT500 one) and am finding it really hard to get the washer fluid cap to fit. It has a plastic ring lip washer inside the cap and that bugger just doesn't seem to snap on the plastic tube. Hate to try too hard cause I might break it. Any ideas, especially from the Shelby Store Guys?

Racin' Randy

Are you sure the washer cap is made for the 2010? I have a 2008 SGT and the washer caps are different between 2008 and 2010 I know, cause my wife has a 2010 GT....

The cap on the 08 snaps on and is round...the cap on the 10 flips up and is almost oval....

Additional information from the Shelby Store Web Site:

Notes:

* Windshield washer fluid cap does not fit 2010+ models.

Welcome, The washer cap dose not fit on my car worth a crap either, I have even had it replaced once, and the new one is no better

Mine fits just fine on my 08 SGT....hard as heck to get off and back on, but at least I ain't gonna loose it....

Hi all,

Racin' Randy

Dear Randy: