TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Super Snake Regrets?

Sabregl

I have purchased a 2009 GT500 and plan to have it converted to a Super Snake which has been dream/goal of mine for the past year and a half. Intially it was going to be the regular SS but I am also now considering the Prudhomme SS as well. After reading on this forum last night I stumbled upon a lot of discontent with the lack of traction. I had always suspected the car would have trouble hooking up but I believed it was something that could be easliy worked out. After reading some of the posts I don't feel so confident about resolving the problem and for the first time I'm questioning whether or not to proceed with the conversion. I am still learning about the Super Snakes and will be the first to admit my knowledge is limited, but hopefully not for long. Will a swap out to a set of drag slicks cure the problem? (at least for quarter mile runs at the drag strip?) My business partner will likely do up a Camaro and challenge me so I need to know exactly where I'm at with this car. Other than the obvious traction issues the Super Snakes have, and after owning and driving the cars are you happy and would you do it all over again?

Thanks.

Here is a good quote I read about the SS wheels and traction issues.