TEAM SHELBY FORUM

under hood wear

Alright guys, I did a preflight before dropping my 07 GT-H at the dealer for service and found a pretty bad wear spot under the hood. The hood has a bored out spot from the band clamp bolt on the intake to the throttle body. I also have a wear spot on the plastic intake leading to the throttle body caused by the hood insulation.

I can't find this topic so I'm hoping that someone has some advice.

The car is under warranty and the dealer called to say new insulation is on the way. My problem is the cause and effect. I don't think there is a problem with the insulation but the location of the band clamp. The service manager said the band clamp will be moved to prevent any more wear but there is a guide on the top for the clamp.

I feel like I should push the issue of the hood having a bored out wear spot due to the structural integrity. (sorry, I'm a pilot and a bit anal about fatigue)

I also would like the intake tube replaced due to the wear spot from the insulation. Am I on the right track here?

Sooooo, lets hear it from the "been there, done that" crew. I'm hoping that this has come up before.

Thank you in advance.

I doubt the integrity of the hood has been compromised they have center sections cut out to make room for the blower install. to include mine and it has been tested @ 155mph plus on many occasions.... here is the cutout if your wondering

28052008407.jpg

I doubt the integrity of the hood has been compromised they have center sections cut out to make room for the blower install. to include mine and it has been tested @ 155mph plus on many occasions.... here is the cutout if your wondering

28052008407.jpg

[/quote

Keep in mind I have a gt hertz with the other hood. The wear spot is about the diameter of a nickel and at least a centimeter deep.

I'm not comfortable with the wear but I want other opinions. As far as I'm concerned, the intake and hood should be replaced.