TEAM SHELBY FORUM

My first real run-in

Spent the morning yesterday detailing the car (clay bar, polish, wax) despite the 110 degree heat index. Last night, I went to wash my microfiber towels and realized I was out of detergent. After a quick stop at Target, I headed back to the house. I look in the rearview and what did I see? A silver M5 rapidly approaching.

Now, I am not a proponent of street racing by any means, and I often have kids in Scions, Civics, etc revving engines at stop lights. I usually just laugh and go about my business. But this was different...

He pulls up next to me at 40mph and lunges the throttle a little. I quickly turn off the traction-control and drop it into second. He then floors it as do I. That was all she wrote as his car quickly dropped back several lengths. :car:

I slow back down and he catches up with his window down. Wide-eyed he says to me "Holy s*%t! That thing is ridiculous!" I smile and say "yes, it sure is." He then waves and then turns into a subdivision.

Granted that I don't think that this M5 was a 2009 (looked about a year or two old), but I still don't think that even a new one would keep up with the TVS!

Ok, I have donned my flame-suit...

Spent the morning yesterday detailing the car (clay bar, polish, wax) despite the 110 degree heat index. Last night, I went to wash my microfiber towels and realized I was out of detergent. After a quick stop at Target, I headed back to the house. I look in the rearview and what did I see? A silver M5 rapidly approaching.

Now, I am not a proponent of street racing by any means, and I often have kids in Scions, Civics, etc revving engines at stop lights. I usually just laugh and go about my business. But this was different...

He pulls up next to me at 40mph and lunges the throttle a little. I quickly turn off the traction-control and drop it into second. He then floors it as do I. That was all she wrote as his car quickly dropped back several lengths. :car: