TEAM SHELBY FORUM

supercharger

Notice that my PSI gauge don't move. Isn't that gauge for the supercharger? I really haven't heard the supercharger kick off yet. I am old and have bad hearing. Just won't to know when it lites off. The manuals that came with it don't have alot of info for the Shelby's. Any ideas

Notice that my PSI gauge don't move. Isn't that gauge for the supercharger? I really haven't heard the supercharger kick off yet. I am old and have bad hearing. Just won't to know when it lites off. The manuals that came with it don't have alot of info for the Shelby's. Any ideas

Probably still in break-in calibration. The cars computer keeps it from producing boost thru a certain number of starts, etc...

Have you depressed the accelerator to the floor? This is not a turbo the gauge doesn't move util you nail it .

Cobra010

had the samee question==got a answer from Mustang5 on the forum

Hi Bob,

I'm no expert either, but it sounds like your car is working as designed. I think you'll find that you could be driving in second gear. Slowly accelerate to 6000 rpm using only moderate throttle and read no boost. This is normal. On the other had you can be at 1500 rpm in 3rd gear and floor it and you'll immediately see at least 5 pounds of boost. This is all normal. The system is setup to deliver boost to the engine at some preset throttle position, not at a given rpm. The beauty of our system is that you can get a lot of boost at a relatively low rpm.

Now to be honest with you, I have never had the time to look at the boost gauge while flooring it in 1st gear. I can tell by the power output and acceleration everthing is working just fine though. Remember if the throttle hasn't been pushed down near the floor, the engine won't put out boost.

The fun way to find out if your car is working properly is to take it to a local drag strip. If you can run around 13.0 seconds at 110 mph your car is working fine.