TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Anti-Theft Devices

Ok, received my VIN and hope to take delivery in several months. Now that I have my dream car on the way I want to make sure no one enjoys it without my permission. What is the best anti-theft device going? After some research I have pretty much decided on the Ravelco, but I am still open to other options.

Thanks

There are a lot of good deterrents out there, but I use the word deterrent because I have learned that no matter what you put on your car if a good thief wants your car that bad then they will get it. Just some simple things such as always keeping your windows rolled up when you park somewhere, parking under street lights/ parking lot lights, not keeping valuables in site inside the car will help. But how many times have you been in a parking lot and hear a car alarm go off and pay no mind, true some devices may work to an extent, but being complacent and careless can get your car yanked too. I have been an installer of car alarms for over 10 years and I plan on installing a viper system in mine with the works. It also comes down to the quality of the install too. When I do alarms I remove a good portion of the dash and wrap every wire with the factory wire loom just so it doesnt give the thief an easy chance to disable the alarm, but I know this only buys a few extra minutes.