TEAM SHELBY FORUM

The GT500 Deployment and an Open Letter to SVT

FordGeek

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole "BLOG" thing primarily because I don't have a lot of time to write. However, I do enjoy some of the postings in stangsunleashed and have recently read postings that resound loudly with me as well. Recently, I mirrored a fellow posters sentiment around the manner in which FORD is handling the rollout of the GT500. What the hell is going on. For starters the production version of the Shelby has evolved quite a bit in both style, and price, from the original concept model. I'm not sure if some of you were fortunate enough to listen in on some of the streaming video out of Detroit, but let me fill you in on something that is certain. The Shelby WILL NOT be base priced below $40K as originally planned. One of Ford's chief executives clearly indicated that the Shelby will offer the most value for a starting price of "...low 40's...". In fact, if you take into consideration the Barret Jackson auction for the right to buy the #1 2007 Shelby, the winning bidder will pay $648,000. That's $600,000 for the right to purchase the vehicle at MSRP. Thus, with options, this puppy will definitely push high $40s. Which brings me to the whole thing about the differences between production and concept. What happened to the cross-drilled rotors, what happened to the uniqe decklid and spoiler (the break light is on the spoiler in the concept vehicle - allows for further distinction between the GT model)...the list goes on. As a "...bleeding for enthusiast..." I'm especially distraught at the manner in which dealerships...you know, the places where you've been pumping your money over the years, are trying to screw us their most loyal customers when it comes to prioritizing who will get the Shelbys. This piece has pissed me off enough to fax a letter to SVT, which I'm sure will never be read, to voice my displeasure. Although some of the content now is a bit dated, I've include