TEAM SHELBY FORUM

so i have been thinking about getting new wheels for racing season, i was thinking about doing some 18 x 10's on the rear and 18 x 9.5 on the front, i have some ppl telling me they will fit with no problems and some telling me they wont. so what is it? will they fit? or will i have rubbing issues? :headscratch:

whats the biggest i can get? i was wanting to put nitto nto1's 315/30/18s on the back and 275/35/18 on the front. this would be for hallet and generaly carving corners then powering out. im not a tire guy im a powerplant mechanic so when it comes to tires im generally lost. would 315's even fit on a 18 x 10? or would a 10.5 be required?

would it be wise to go with instead? 275's all round and 9.5 front and back? :sos::headscratch:

I'll take a stab at it. . . . . on a 18" wheel and a width of 8.5" or 9" - you'll probably want to run with the 275s . . . . . 315s are going to have quite a bit of roll on the sidewall.

Many have gone with the 20" wheels on their cars. The American Racing Shelby Razors are 20x9" - and SAI has been using/suggesting P255/35R20 for the front and P275/35R20 for the rear. Discount Tire suggested that I could run P295 . . . . . But going beyond that in the rear you do run the risk of the tire hitting the wheel well of the quarter panel.

I'm planning to run 20x9 up front and 20x10 in the rear. 255s up front and 275s in the back. I'm sorta thinking that if you run 275s up front on 9" rims. . . you're going to notice some push or maybe even some sidewall roll which will translate into worse handling characteristics.

I'm just thinking out loud - and thought that I'd put out my $0.02

Trevor

Ok, here's my .02 worth.........