TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Changing your own oil

RiverRunner

I have a "thing" about doing my own maintenance. I've always done it and I shudder to think of paying someone else to do something as simple as changing oil. However, I've been driving pickups and suv's for the last 20 years and other than the Shelby, I've had one other car which was my first vehicle and only had it a year if that.

So this morning I was scratching my head wondering how the hell I was going to deal with a car that is only 5.5 inches off the ground. :headscratch:

Here is what I did and it worked pretty well. 2 2x8's, a few screws and some "fitment testing" and got the car up 6 more inches. I just can't get any fatter or I'm in trouble. :hysterical:

oil_change_ramp1.jpg

oil_change_ramp2.jpg

I have a little oil change place close to me that treats my car very nicely. No problems at all with those guys. Of course I hover like a hawk after a chicken as well so it's not like they are unsupervised. Even then they do make mistakes. I went back inside this last time after the oil change before they closed the hood. When I got home the hood was not closed but held by the pins - they didn't latch it and just used the pins to hold it closed. :banghead: Going to have to talk with Chris (the owner) about that one.

I was going to change my oil but it's so much easier to let someone else do it and I don't need to worry about trying to recycle the oil....

I use the Rhino ramps, too... My driveway slopes upward to the garage and there is about an inch edge at the front of it. I place the ramps inside the garage and when the car hits the ramps, there is only enough space between the front bumper and the ramps to slide a piece of paper through it, but they don't touch. So all is good to change my own oil...

Gary

I found this link about a guy that made his own, basically the same idea. In his post he used them for a muffler change.

home made ramps