TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Help, please!

ninomambo

Hello,

I'm soon to be a new owner, but I was hoping someone would help me "spot" a real Shelby GT. I'm new to all this and don't want to be ripped off. Can anyone tell me if by the VIN # or anything else I can know for sure I'm getting the real deal in my 2007? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

The first thing to look for is the hood scoop. A REAL Shelby GT has a scoop rivited onto the hood, and it should be warped. It will have a dash plaque with a CSM #, like 07SGTxxxx. Look at pics of other SGT's on this site, it's a unique car, you shouldn't have any problem distinguishing one.

The first thing to look for is the hood scoop. A REAL Shelby GT has a scoop rivited onto the hood, and it should be warped. It will have a dash plaque with a CSM #, like 07SGTxxxx. Look at pics of other SGT's on this site, it's a unique car, you shouldn't have any problem distinguishing one.

Just to clarify - 2007 Shelby GT's did not have fully riveted scoops, but were instead bolted / screwed to the hood and had fake rivets. Some 2007 owners, like myself, are having that scoop replaced with the new and improved Sheby GT scoop which is fully riveted to the hood (see the scoop threads for the long history).

There is also a Shelby tag located under the hood near the driver side headlamp which provides the CSM #.

You could check out my Cardomain site for more info that might help.

One day soon the new Shelby Registry will be published which should provide the VIN match for the CSM #.

I suggest that you post pictures and details of whatever Shelby GT it is that your looking at on the forum here and let all of us comment on whether it appears to be the real deal.

Hello,