TEAM SHELBY FORUM

BBK throttle body install

I did this a month or two ago now, but I just got around to re-sizing the pics.

I installed the 62mm twin BBK throttle body and shelved the stock one.

I noticed a big difference in throttle response and a noticeable gain in low end power right away.

The install was pretty straight forward.

Ken

post-20883-1229647301_thumb.jpg

post-20883-1229647301_thumb.jpg

I'm new to performance mods and I'm curious what makes the BBK better then stock? The opening look about the same to a performance newbie like me.

About 15-20 HP and some more torque according to BBK...Looks simple enough if you have all of the right tools...Not too bad of a gain for $300.00 I guess...

About 15-20 HP and some more torque according to BBK...Looks simple enough if you have all of the right tools...Not too bad of a gain for $300.00 I guess...

I question the 15-20 final gains. Been there, tried that.

Back in '03 and '04, I tested the BBK TB on a 4.6L-4V DOHC Marauder. Twin 62mm vs. twin 62mm. Not enough gain to print B&A dyno reports.

Later, I tested the single blade Accufab (after trimming out the upper intake to clear the blade) and got single digit improvement in power (HP and TQ), as well as a reduction in 2 MPG.

The only way this TB is going to improve power, is to retune the car with a custom dyno tune. The TB is a bottle neck for CFM flow, and until it's larger, you won't see impressive value. Much like the fantasy of power gains with some other aftermarket induction elbow, it really a matter of air volume. You may feel more tug in the seat of your pants, and throttle tip-in will be smoother, but it's cheaper to just pull your stock TB and polish out the interior surfaces. Combine that with a smoother elbow and a professional dyno tune, and you have some performance value for your time and money.

Happy motoring, gents.

I question the 15-20 final gains. Been there, tried that.