TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Ford quarterly results

Alloy Dave

I work in Finance, so I keep up on these types of things. Unfortunately they are predicting "operating" earnings to get worse in Q3. My company releases earnings on the 30th...we won't be doing this poorly I'm sure.

Dave

http://money.cnn.com/2006/10/23/news/compa...sion=2006102315

Yeah, 5.3 Billion is a lot of coin :wacko:

What they aren't saying is how much profit Ford has been earning for years on sales of fat/heavy pickups and SUV's. They've had their collective head's up their collective butts too long. No excuses. The rest of us saw this coming - they should have, too. I drive Ford's but still think they deserve no sympathy.

What they aren't saying is how much profit Ford has been earning for years on sales of fat/heavy pickups and SUV's. They've had their collective head's up their collective butts too long. No excuses. The rest of us saw this coming - they should have, too. I drive Ford's but still think they deserve no sympathy.

I agree. But it's not just Ford...GM is doing the same thing. The focus is too much short term....the big, expensive, gas guzzlers are where people are 'price insensitive', so they go after it. They fail to look farther than 2 years out, and what those trends bring. When was the last time you saw a Honda 1 ton truck?

Dave

I agree the results look bad, but massive restructuring is EXPENSIVE. These kind of results were not unexpected. Plant closings, layoffs and buy-outs all cost serious coin, and the residual effects tend to drag out for a long time. I imagine we won't start seeing some significant improvements to Ford's bottom line until 2008/2009.