TEAM SHELBY FORUM

GT500KR ( WHAT DOES A TUNER DO)

Hello,

I am kinda new to the modifing of non carb/ old school motors, what can be done to increase performance without cracking open the motor and adding parts.

I have been reading about those tuners>?, I have a 2009 GT500KR coming and I want to tweak it a bit, any advise on what and which brand I should go with.

Thank you very much

Not sure where you're located. The best way to get the ultimate from a tune is to run your car on a dyno.

The operator will monitor the HP/torque and air fuel curves. They adjust the timing and fuel mixture to make as much HP as possible. You can buy some "canned tunes" based on what engine tuners program a large sample of similar vehicles with and is probably 90% correct. When you buy a tune they provide you with a flasher that connects to your car and you upload a tune to your ECM. You then retain the tuner device.

So far, my real experience is with Brenspeed and a Mustang GT. The car acts totally different (more performance) after being flashed with his tune. The master of GT500's is Justin at VMP.

Not sure where you're located. The best way to get the ultimate from a tune is to run your car on a dyno.

The operator will monitor the HP/torque and air fuel curves. They adjust the timing and fuel mixture to make as much HP as possible. You can buy some "canned tunes" based on what engine tuners program a large sample of similar vehicles with and is probably 90% correct. When you buy a tune they provide you with a flasher that connects to your car and you upload a tune to your ECM. You then retain the tuner device.

So far, my real experience is with Brenspeed and a Mustang GT. The car acts totally different (more performance) after being flashed with his tune. The master of GT500's is Justin at VMP.

or Jon Lund in PA

I have an SCT, but I think they pretty much all operate the same.

• Your car comes with a tune already programmed into it's computer.