TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Where to Take a Shelby for Bodywork After Accident

caverlizzie

Good evening. Please forgive me if this is not the right place to ask this question. I'm new to Team Shelby and these forums. About a month ago I bought my first Shelby - a GT - and I love it. Last night some guy crashed into it. I'll eventually be OK; but I'm worried about the Shelby. That car means a lot to me and I really want to make sure it gets properly repaired. How do I make sure that any replacement performance parts are the right ones? I know so little about cars that anyone could replace excellent parts with parts of lesser quality and I would never know. I've done what I can to educate myself on parts specific to Shelby Mustangs; but my knowledge is still at an "amateur" level. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where I can go or what I should do to make sure that the repairs stay true to the Shelby? I live in the greater DC/VA/WV/PA area; but I'm willing to take it anywhere to make sure the work is done right and the parts are the right parts. Is taking it back to the dealership where I bought it the right thing to do? Thanks for any information any of you can provide. - caverlizzie. :cry:

caverlizzie

I'm on the other side of the country so I have no shop that I can recommend in your area but I would look for a shop that has some sort of certification like I-Car or a similar certification.

Being approved by AAA also is a plus.

Best advice is to get a minimum of three estimates so that you can get a look at the shop and the cars they work on when they are writing your estimate.

Personally I have had bad luck with dealership body shops.

Sorry about your Shelby but take your time and get it repaired right.

Steve