TEAM SHELBY FORUM

Open Track Shelby GT at Willow Springs, CA

richardsonr

I ran my #358 at Willow Springs International Raceway last week end. I had 1100 miles on the odometer (my first road trip was to SAI in Vas Vegas the week before).

First of all, for a little background, I have been running Open Track Events at Willow Springs for over 32 years. My first event was in a 1966 Mustang set up for road racing, I have run too many cars to remember from full SCCA A/P 1968 Z28 to my 2004 Corvette Z06. I also club raced sprint go-carts for a couple of years.

Last week end I ran the Los Angeles Shelby American Automobile Club Open Track event at the Streets of Willow Springs. I have been one of the promoters of our club event for over 13 years and one of our driving instructors. LASAAC runs the 1.8 miles course.

First of all, I was very pleased with the performance and handling of the car. I wanted to drive the Shelby on the track stock to get an idea of what the car can do before I make any changes. I did miss the 405 horsepower of my Z06 (and the ability to scare my friends at 105 MPH approaching a 45 MPH corner) but the Shelby hit 95 MPH approaching that same corner.

Be prepared for the Mustang understeer, that has not gone away and I will make some future changes to resolve. The Shelby rotates predictably under brake-steering and once the front starts to push you have to lift, let the front tires grip, and then ease the thottle to complete the turn. The Shelby stays very flat under cornering and the 3:55 gears really make a difference exiting corners.