TEAM SHELBY FORUM

AutoWeek's Test - Merc S600

RUFDRAFT

Autoweek - May 15th - Article on the MB S600.

Car weighs 4960lbs.

Horsepower: 510 (V12 - TT)

Torque: 612

0-60: 4.5 secs.

Now - I'm not an engineer - but it seems odd that a car which weighs 1,000 lbs more than the Shelby and has only 10 more hp can click off a 4.5 to 60.

Comments?

Everyone focuses on horsepower, but it's torque that does the work. Look at those ricers that have 450Hp and 179 Lb Ft of torque (well, yes, I'm exaggerating). They're getting the horsepower numbers by winding the crap out of the engine. It's what I call thin horsepower. Look at the horsepower v. torque for tractor-trailer rigs. Torque is usually the bigger number.

whew.

I keep having this problem with the difference between hp & tq.

And - no one yet has provided me with an understandable explanation of how the two differ.

If torque is what's important - why does Ford advertise 500 HORSEPOWER?

Sleepless in Washington! :shift:

whew.

And - no one yet has provided me with an understandable explanation of how the two differ.

Because HP is what you want to hear about.

HP and torque do not differ they are related. I cannot remember the relationship exactly, but the easy rule is that torque will get a load moving (acceleration) while horsepower will keep the system moving.

the reason the MB performs well is due to 12 cylinders and twin turbos as much as it is the 'hp or torque ratings"

whew.

Man, there's so much to this question and there's no short answer, but I'll try.

Horsepower gets you going fast but not necessarilly quickly

Torque gets you going quickly but not necessarilly to a high speed.

Gear ratios use torque curves and max hp ratings to marry the two to get the best performance.