TEAM SHELBY FORUM

HOUSTON WE HAVE A PROBLEM

Mustang5

Ok guys, it is finally coming together. I have been whining about the dreaded engine tick for 5 months now. I am finally seeing some pain amongst the rest of you. My tick showed up on the driver side of the engine at 1200 miles and got worse with time. At 3000 miles Ford agreed to replace all of my valve lash adjusters (lifters). When I picked the car up the original tick had been fixed, but I now had a new and slightly different tick. The new tick is on the passenger side of the car and lower in the block as many of you have described. The difference with the new tick is that it has not changed with the addition of 2000 more miles. On a previous post titled engine tick revisited, Kirkm posted an audio/video of his car and his engine tick. My new tick is the same exact one that Kirkm has. I think we need to run some type of survey among our members or at least have everyone who reads this post respond with yes I have the same tick or no I don't, and see what percentage of us have the same tick that Kirkm and I have.

Is this noise normal as several Ford dealers have told some of you or is a valve lash adjuster problem just now surfacing? Personally I am embarassed by the noise and it detracts greatly from an otherwise awesome car.